If you’ve recently watched the news, you may already be aware that Michigan enacted new recreational marijuana laws. While these laws allow a certain amount of recreational use, they don’t fully legalize marijuana. It’s still illegal to purchase and sell weed.
Unfortunately, many people still face charges for marijuana-related crimes as a result. Michigan isn’t as progressive as other states like Colorado and California. If you find yourself facing allegations related to marijuana, it’s essential to get in touch with an attorney that has experience with drug-related crimes.
Michigan Marijuana Possession, PWI, and Cultivation Defense
Depending on the type of charge you’re facing, we can provide you with legal defense in court. We cover a broad range of marijuana-related charges, including:
While it is now legal to possess under 2.5oz of marijuana in the state of Michigan, you will still be charged with a crime if you’re found to possess over this amount. If you had more than 2.5oz, you might get away with a misdemeanor and fine if you didn’t have any intent to distribute the drugs.
Many people only think of operating while intoxicated charges in terms of alcohol, but they also relate to all other drugs and substances. If a cop thinks you are operating a vehicle while under the influence of marijuana, you may face charges that result in a loss of license or further punishments.
Unlike alcohol, it is a lot harder to prove if someone is directly under the influence of marijuana. No BAC test can provide a definitive answer for investigators. While you should never operate a vehicle under the influence of any substance, it’s important to understand your rights if you are falsely accused.
Due to growing issues associated with people driving while high, cops can sometimes get overzealous about accusing you of being under the influence. If this is the case, call our offices straight away for advice on how to approach the situation.
Cultivation is probably the most severe marijuana-related crime you will face in the state of Michigan. While authorities are now happy for you to smoke recreationally, they’re not OK with people to cultivating or selling marijuana within state borders.
If you are caught cultivating marijuana, you may face up to four years in prison. You may also face up to $20,000 in fines. It’s essential to contact an attorney if you’re facing cultivation charges.
Defense Lawyer for Pot Smoking Charges
While pot smoking is now legal in Michigan, it’s still important to recognize marijuana-related infractions that can land you in hot water. We can help you with any pot smoking-related charges.
Possession with Intent to Sell
Penalties for possession with intent to sell can be substantial. For example, if you’re found with less than 5 kg, you can still face up to four years in prison, and if you’re found with over 45kg, you may face up to 15 years in prison.
If you’re being accused of possession with intent to sell, it’s critical to contact an attorney as early in the process as possible.
Verdict: Contact O’Keefe Law Today
Don’t wait for the prosecution to build an unfair case against you, get in contact with the best Lansing criminal defense lawyer in the region. We work hard to provide you with the best possible defense against marijuana-related charges.
Our founder, Patrick O’Keefe, previously worked as a prosecutor. He has unique insights on the way the state forms cases — he can help you avoid severe punishment. If you’re in East Lansing or a surrounding region, give us a call today to discuss your situation in more detail.