Patrick O'Keefe transparent portrait
THE PROBLEM SOLVER

East Lansing Child Abuse Defense Lawyer

Child abuse allegations can come with serious charges and the real possibility of prison time. Even before a case gets started, child abuse charges can damage reputations, relationships, careers, and more. While some accusations may hold true, it’s very possible for misunderstandings or misguided individuals to give rise to false allegations.

When that happens, you need East Lansing Child Abuse Defense Attorney Patrick William O’Keefe in your coroner. As a board-certified lawyer, Attorney O’Keefe has the practical knowledge and skills to provide exceptional advocacy and get results inside and outside of the courtroom.

Call 517-273-0421 or email O’Keefe Law for a free, confidential consultation and important advice about your defense options.

If you contact just one attorney, you must contact board-certified Attorney Patrick William O’Keefe today. Remember, it is never too early to hire the right attorney, but it could be too late.

Child Abuse Charges & Penalties in Lansing, MI

Michigan child abuse laws cover acts of physical, sexual, and emotional abuse. These laws also outline requirements for “mandatory reporters,” like physicians and social workers, who can face criminal charges for failures to report (or false reporting on) alleged child abuse.

Here is a look at the different types and levels of child abuse charges in Michigan, when each can be filed, and what the penalties for each can be upon conviction.

First-Degree Child Abuse

The intentional infliction of serious physical or mental harm on a child can result in first-degree child abuse charges. In the most serious cases, convictions on these felony charges can be punishable by life in prison.

Second-Degree Child Abuse

These felony child abuse charges can be filed when someone is accused of intentionally putting a child at risk of serious harm, regardless of whether the risk results in injury. Negligence that harms a child can also be grounds for second-degree child abuse charges in Michigan.

Upon conviction, these felonies can be punishable by up to 10 years for a first offense or 20 years for a second (or subsequent) offense.

Third-Degree Child Abuse

Knowingly causing physical harm to a child can be the basis for third-degree child abuse charges in Michigan. Also felonies, these child abuse charges can be punishable by up to 2 years in prison upon conviction.

Fourth-Degree Child Abuse

Reckless neglect of a child causing physical harm is classified as fourth-degree child abuse in Michigan. Upon conviction, these misdemeanor charges can be punishable by up to 1 year in prison.

Talk to an Experienced East Lansing Child Abuse Defense Lawyer: Contact O’Keefe Law

If you have been charged with child abuse or child neglect and you want experienced defense representation, it’s time to contact East Lansing Criminal Defense Lawyer Patrick William O’Keefe. The truth is that you can only clear your name by winning in court—and the attorney you retain can make all the difference in the efficacy of your defense and the outcome of your case.

At O’Keefe Law, we don’t just fight for shorter sentences. We aim for the best possible resolutions, including dismissals and acquittals.

Call 517-273-0421 or email O’Keefe Law for a free, confidential consultation and important advice about your defense options.

Violent & Serious Crimes Links

Email Us

Fill out the form and send it & we will quickly reach back out to you with answers.

Practice Areas

© Copyright 2020 | O'Keefe Law | All Rights Reserved
Initial consultation is free. Calling our firm does not immediately establish an attorney/client relationship. O'Keefe Law is a high-demand firm & accepts clients very selectively.
3893 Okemos Rd, 
Suite B1
Okemos, MI 48864
Google Reviews Link
Powered By:
Epic Web Results text logo
(517) 253-0114
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram