If you have a suspended driver’s license and need transportation, it might be tempting to ignore the consequences and start driving anyhow. Lansing residents must deal with severe weather and a lack of public transportation, and driving may seem like the easier choice.

However, if you’re caught driving with a suspended license, you could face significant jail time and some hefty fines. It’s even likely that the legal expenses and other consequences of driving with a suspended license will exceed the total cost of the offense that resulted in losing your license.

Regrettably, some drivers are not aware they’ve been driving with a suspended license until they face charges. The consequences of driving with a suspended license are severe in Michigan; they include jail time and increasing fines with each subsequent violation.

Fight your first offense with an experienced Lansing traffic attorney. The defense attorneys at O’Keefe Law will strive to get your driving privileges restored.

What are the penalties for driving with a suspended license?

Individuals charged for driving with a suspended license typically receive a misdemeanor charge, but depending on the person and the circumstances of the case, they may face a felony charge.

A First Violation and the Penalty

If you are caught driving with a suspended license and it’s your first offense, you may face these penalties:

  • A misdemeanor charge
  • Up to 93 days in jail
  • A fine of up to $500
  • Canceled vehicle registration and plates

Even a first violation has consequences that can disrupt your life and the lives of your family members. Experienced defense attorneys like the team at O’Keefe Law may be able to have your charges reduced or even dismissed.

Subsequent Violations and Their Penalties

Subsequent offenses for driving with a suspended license incur the following penalties:

  • A misdemeanor charge
  • Up to 1 year in jail
  • A fine of up to $1,000
  • Canceled vehicle registration and plates

Additional violations can severely constrain your ability to lead a regular life and cause hardship to your family and your ability to earn a living. An experienced criminal defense attorney can help you fight the charges and may even get your case dismissed.

A Case Involving Injuries

For cases that involve an injury for one or more parties, a person driving with a suspended license can face the following:

  • A felony charge
  • Up to 5 years in jail
  • A fine between $1,000 and $5,000
  • Potential vehicle forfeiture

A Case Involving a Death

Cases involving death are the most serious for a person driving with a suspended license. The penalties are as follows:

  • A felony charge
  • Up to 15 years in prison
  • A fine between $2,500 and $10,000
  • Likely vehicle forfeiture

As you can see, the penalties become increasingly more severe for driving with a suspended license in cases involving injuries or death. Don’t risk your future by not getting legal counsel to help you understand and fight your case.

Can I be charged if I let someone drive with a suspended license?

Penalties for allowing another person to drive with a suspended license are just as harsh as they are for a person driving with a suspended license. Michigan law charges a person with a misdemeanor or felony for knowingly allowing an individual with a suspended license to drive their vehicle. You could also face fines and possible jail time depending on the circumstances of the case.

What about driving in emergency situations?

If there is a situation involving endangered human life or property, the law allows for driving with a suspended license in the state of Michigan. If obtaining immediate aid is vital, driving on a suspended license is permitted.

How can I get my Michigan driver’s license reinstated?

Lack of public transportation and inclement weather in Michigan limit your transportation options when you don’t have a driver’s license. If you have a suspended driver’s license due to a conviction, you should promptly seek legal counsel specializing in suspended license cases.

Contact O’Keefe Law today for assistance before contemplating driving with a suspended license. O’Keefe Law in Lansing can help get your suspended driver’s license reinstated.

Look to O’Keefe Law for Skilled Suspended License Attorneys

For help with reinstating a suspended driver’s license, call O’Keefe Law to speak with skilled legal criminal justice attorney who will work on your behalf to restore your license quickly whenever possible. We can promptly sort out whether your charges were unwarranted or you were driving on suspension for legal reasons.

O’Keefe Law works with you to better understand your situation so we can fight on your behalf. Our number one goal is having your charges reduced or dismissed whenever possible. Please call O’Keefe Law today at 517-273-0428 for a free initial consultation.

DUI Articles