Michigan gun laws detail the terms and prohibitions for firearm possession and the right to carry within the state. They also explain the criminal charges and punishments that can be imposed for failing to comply with these laws. Complicated and regularly evolving, Michigan gun laws are important to understand for those who:
To clarify some of the key points in these statutes, below features some essential answers to common questions about Michigan gun laws. A Lansing criminal defense attorney at O’Keefe Law can provide you with more answers and advice about a particular case whenever you need it.
Purchasing and possessing firearms in Michigan is against the law for those who are younger than 18, as well as legal adults who are:
Michigan gun laws are largely built around prohibitions, meaning there are no state laws specifically authorizing the possession or use of firearms. Instead, the laws are focused on bans, dictating who cannot possess firearms, where guns cannot legally be carried, and more. Explore the links and content below to learn about Michigan gun laws, as well as the charges and penalties that can come into play for violating them.
Anyone who is not prohibited from possessing or carrying a legal firearm in Michigan may openly carry a gun anywhere it is not specifically banned by law. Some places with specific bans for open carry in Michigan include:
Michigan is a “shall-issue” state when it comes to concealed pistol licenses (CPLs). Effectively, this means that Michigan residents who are at least 21 can obtain a CPL as long as:
Michigan CPL holders must comply with specific restrictions and rules when they carry a concealed weapon. This means not carrying an open or concealed weapon in specific prohibited places and only carrying for the purposes of protection, shooting practice, or hunting—not for the purposes of committing a crime.
Minors in Michigan are generally prohibited from possessing firearms, unless they are traveling to or from—or they are engaged in—hunting or target practice at a licensed shooting range. Even in these situations, specific rules much be followed in order to comply with the law. If they aren’t, misdemeanor or felony gun charges can be filed against the minor who has violated the law, as well as any dealer (or another party) that may have sold or transferred the firearm to the minor.
It is legal to possess and use stun guns and tasers in Michigan as long as:
Michigan gun laws prohibit convicted felons from possessing firearms while providing some exceptions and paths to restoring gun rights for those with certain felonies. In fact, felons may be able to restore their rights to possess certain firearms as long as:
When convicted felons violate these laws, they can be charged with another felony offense, which may be punishable by up to 5 years in prison.
Michigan law states that there is no way to open carry within a motor vehicle. Consequently, gun laws for possession of a firearm in a motor vehicle dictate that:
Felony charges can be filed against those who illegally possess and/or transport firearms in vehicles in the state of Michigan.
Certain weapons are banned by Michigan law, regardless of whether individuals have a criminal record or a CPL. These illegal weapons include (and are not limited to):
Possession of an illegal weapon in Michigan can be met with felony weapons charges and, in the event of a conviction, up to 5 years in prison.
Michigan gun laws don’t just establish prohibitions for gun possession and prohibited types of firearms. These statutes also criminalize the sale or transfer of a firearm to a prohibited individual. Depending on who that prohibited individual is, this weapons offense can bring misdemeanor or felony charges.
The experienced Michigan gun defense lawyers at O’Keefe Law known Michigan gun laws inside and out, making us highly effective at defending our clients against various weapons charges.
If you or someone you love has been charged with a misdemeanor or felony weapons crime, you need experienced defense representation if you’re serious about protecting your rights, freedom, and future. You need Lansing Criminal Defense Lawyer Patrick William O’Keefe.
The truth is that weapons charges can have lasting impacts and that you can only clear your name by winning in court. The attorney you retain is pivotal to that effort and to setting your case up for a successful resolution. At O’Keefe Law, we don’t just fight for shorter sentences. We aim for the best possible resolutions, including dismissals and acquittals.
Call 517-273-0421 or email O’Keefe Law for a free, confidential consultation and important advice about your defense options.
Remember, it is never too early to hire the right attorney, but it could be too late.
The sooner you contact O’Keefe Law, the sooner you can get the defense you need to fight for fair, favorable outcomes.
Backed by years of courtroom experience, Attorney Patrick William O’Keefe has the practical knowledge and skills to provide exceptional advocacy and get results inside and outside of the courtroom. He is also dedicated to:
If you contact just one attorney, you must contact board-certified Attorney Patrick William O’Keefe today. We look forward to hearing from you and helping you with a weapons case or any criminal case. In the meantime, check out some of our previous results and client testimonials to learn more about why we are a 5-star criminal defense law firm in and around Lansing, MI.
[AC1]LINK each of these H3s to the individual pages (New ones below)
Fill out the form and send it & we will quickly reach back out to you with answers.